Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In
Check registration (?)

The national registration search contains the names of all individuals and firms who are registered to sell securities in Canada, with the exception of those registered solely with the Ontario Securities Commision (OSC).

Advisory Committees

The ASC has established five advisory committees of industry representatives to evaluate the development of new or amended securities regulation. These expert committees help keep staff up to date on industry views and current business practices. As the market evolves, so do the terms of reference for these committees, as we work to ensure their efforts best serve the Alberta capital market. The ASC would like to thank committee members for their insights and contributions over the past year.

  1. Exempt Market Dealer Advisory Committee

    The purpose of EMDAC is to advise and serve as a vehicle for communication of information, proposed policy and market developments related to exempt market dealers.

    Sandra Bautz
    ROQ Capital Partners Ltd.
    Philip du Heaume
    Philip du Heaume Professional Corporation
    Jarrod Isfeld
    DLA Piper (Canada) LLC
    Dean Koeller
    Calvert Home Mortgage Investment Corporation
    Brian Koscak
    Pinnacle Wealth Brokers Inc.
    Darcy Lake
    Canoe Financial LP
    Joseph Lavoie
    UMC Financial Management Inc.
    Brian Menges
    Caplink Financial Corporation
    Craig Skauge
    Kevin Wolfe
    Richmond Equity Management Ltd.
  2. Derivatives Advisory Committee

    This committee advises Corporate Finance and Market Regulation staff on various policy issues and other matters of concern to Alberta derivatives marketplace participants.

    Cameron Bowman
    ATB Financial
    Priscilla Bunke
    PetroChina International (Canada) Trading Ltd.
    Jason Comandante
    Capital Power
    Stephen Connelley
    BP Canada Energy Group ULC
    Kara L. Dutta
    Intercontinental Exchange
    Tim Elliott
    CME Group
    Krista Friesen
    Husky Energy Inc.
    Kerri L. Howard
    DLA Piper (Canada) LLP
    Kerrie J. Logan
    Darren McAdoo, CMA
    Suncor Energy Inc.
    Kari Olesen
    Enbridge Inc.
    Daryck Riddell
    TransAlta Corporation
  3. Financial Advisory Committee

    This committee assists and advises the Office of the Chief Accountant on current and proposed accounting, auditing and securities matters.

    Scott Bandura, CA
    PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
    Catherine Best, FCA, ICD.D
    Corporate Director
    Terry Booth, FCPA, FCA, CF
    Collins Barrow Calgary LLP
    Matt Bootle, FCA
    Ernst & Young LLP
    Denise Bright, CA, CF
    Bennett Jones LLP
    Sean Du Plessis, CA
    Meyers Norris Penny LLP
    Imam Hasan, CPA, CA
    Chris Johnston, CA
    Enbridge Energy Partners, LP
    Mike Mazar, CA, CFA
    BMO Capital Markets
    Patricia Newson, FCA, ICD.D
    Corporate Director
    Christopher Webster, CGA, CFA
    Pengrowth Energy Corporation
    Ward Zimmer, CA
    Deloitte LLP
  4. Market Advisory Committee

    The purpose of this committee is to advise and serve as a vehicle for communication of ideas, issues and concerns, proposed policy and developments from a market structure, trading and dealing perspective.

    Leslee Altin
    Peters & Co. Limited
    Derrick Auch
    DLA Piper (Canada) LLC
    Jocelyn Beckett
    AltaCorp Capital Inc.
    Jim Dale
    Leede Jones Gable Inc.
    Brady Fletcher
    TSX Venture Exchange Inc.
    Warren Funt
    Steven Harvey
    Brett Kimak
    ATB Investment Management Inc.
    Myja Miller
    Acumen Capital Finance Partners Limited
  5. Petroleum Advisory Committee

    This committee provides views and advice on issues and developments with respect to oil and gas regulatory policies, guidance and disclosure.

    Caralyn P. Bennett, P.Eng.
    GLJ Petroleum Consultants Ltd.
    David P. Carey, P.Eng.
    Harry Helwerda, P.Eng., FEC
    Dr. John Lacey, P.Eng.
    Enjay Holdings Alberta Ltd.
    Jeff Meunier, P.Eng.
    RBC Capital Markets
    Keith McCandlish, P.Geol., P.Geo.
    DMT Geosciences Ltd.
    Ian McDonald, P.Eng.
    Nexen Energy ULC
    Rob Morgan, P.Eng.
    Cona Resources Ltd.
    James Surbey, B.Eng.
    Birchcliff Energy Ltd.
    Philip A. Welch, P.Eng.
    McDaniel & Associates Consultants Ltd.
    John Zahary, P.Eng.
    Altex Energy Ltd.
  6. Securities Advisory Committee

    This committee is comprised of practising securities lawyers who review and comment on proposed legislation, rules and policies, and provide general advisory services to the ASC.

    Keith Chatwin
    Stikeman Elliott LLP
    Scott Clarke
    Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
    Nicholas (Nick) Fader
    Bennett Jones LLP
    Jamie L. Gagner
    Norton Rose Fulbright Canada, LLP
    Leanne C. Krawchuk
    Dentons Canada Ltd.
    David R.J. Lefebvre
    Dentons Canada Ltd.
    William Maslechko
    Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP
    David Taniguchi
    Enbridge Inc.
    Bryce Tingle
    N. Murray Edwards Chair in Business Law, University of Calgary
    Andrea Whyte
    Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt, LLP
  7. New Economy Advisory Committee

    Members of our recently formed New Economy Advisory Committee share insight and help us explore alternatives to ensure a vibrant capital market that facilitates innovation and access to capital while providing appropriate investor protection.

    Wellington Holbrook
    ATB Financial
    Peter Tertzakian
    Arc Energy Research Institute
    Adam Felesky
    Portag3 Ventures
    Dr. Michael Robinson, CFA
    Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary
    Martin Molyneaux, CPA, CFA Kristina Williams
    Alberta Enterprise Corporation
    Kevin Brent, CFA
    Bluesky Equities
    Jim Gibson
    Rainforest Alberta
    Reynold Tetzlaff, CPA
    PwC Canada
    Alice Reimer
    Creative Destruction Labs
    Nancy Laird
    BDC Board of Directors
    Irfhan Rawji
    MobSquad, Totem Capital Corporation