Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In
Check registration (?)

The national registration search contains the names of all individuals and firms who are registered to sell securities in Canada, with the exception of those registered solely with the Ontario Securities Commision (OSC).

Canadian securities regulators publish details of market disruption coordination process

Oct 18 2018

Toronto and Montreal – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published Staff Notice 11-338 CSA Market Disruption Coordination Plan to inform market participants about the CSA’s coordination process to address a market disruption, including one that may stem from a large-scale cybersecurity incident.

“Ensuring that fair, efficient and orderly markets are not compromised has guided the preparation of these procedures” said Louis Morisset, CSA Chair and President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers. “We are reminding market participants of the CSA’s expectations and requirements, particularly given the increased frequency of data breaches and cybersecurity incidents and their potential to disrupt markets.”

The Notice provides a description of the main features of the CSA procedures and the role regulated entities and authorities have in responding to, and coordinating in the event of, a market disruption. It also clarifies the obligations of regulated entities, including notification requirements to regulators and dissemination of information to the public.

The CSA will continue to monitor developments in incident management practices and will take steps where appropriate to integrate incident management and cybersecurity related activities into its work and to interact with market participants and other stakeholders.

The Notice can be found on CSA members’ websites.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For Investor inquiries, please refer to your respective provincial securities regulator. You can contact them here.

For media inquiries, please refer to the list of provincial and territorial representatives below or contact us at

Kristen Rose
Ontario Securities Commission
Brian Kladko
British Columbia Securities Commission
Jason Booth
The Manitoba Securities Commission
David Harrison
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
Renée Dyer
Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Newfoundland and Labrador
Jeff Mason
Nunavut Securities Office
Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers
Hilary McMeekin
Alberta Securities Commission
Sara Wilson
Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick
Steven Dowling
Government of Prince Edward Island
Superintendent of Securities
Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities
Tom Hall
Office of the Superintendent of Securities,
Northwest Territories