Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In
Check registration (?)

The national registration search contains the names of all individuals and firms who are registered to sell securities in Canada, with the exception of those registered solely with the Ontario Securities Commision (OSC).

Canadian securities regulators encourage investors to look out for ETF Facts

Nov 05 2018

Vancouver – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today launched an awareness campaign encouraging investors to read the Exchange-Traded Funds (ETF) Facts they receive from their dealers when they invest in an ETF, an investment fund that trades like a stock but may hold a diversified portfolio of investments.

Effective December 10, 2018, dealers will be required to deliver the ETF Facts to investors who purchase ETF securities. The ETF Facts will provide investors with key information about an ETF in an accessible, easy-to-understand format, including potential benefits, risks and costs of investing in an ETF.

“Reviewing the ETF Facts helps investors have informed conversations with their registered investment advisors about their ETF investments, for example how an ETF would fit within their portfolio or how certain features of an ETF, such as its fees and expenses, compare to other ETFs,” said Louis Morisset, CSA Chair and President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers.

The campaign includes a new webpage and interactive ETF Facts sample highlighting information investors can expect from the ETF Facts, such as fund performance, management expense ratio (MER), fund holdings and more. There are also brief ETF Facts explainer videos on YouTube.

Investors can also consult the ETF Facts on the website of the company offering the fund, or simply ask their investment advisor for a copy.

The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For Investor inquiries, please refer to your respective securities regulator. You can contact them here.

For media inquiries, please refer to the list of provincial and territorial representatives below or contact us at

Kristen Rose
Ontario Securities Commission
Brian Kladko
British Columbia Securities Commission
Jason Booth
The Manitoba Securities Commission
David Harrison
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
Craig Whalen
Office of the Superintendent of Securities
Newfoundland and Labrador
Jeff Mason
Nunavut Securities Office
Shannon McMillan
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan
Hilary McMeekin
Alberta Securities Commission
Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers
Sara Wilson
Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick
Steven Dowling
Government of Prince Edward Island
Superintendent of Securities
Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities
Tom Hall
Office of the Superintendent of Securities,
Northwest Territories